Teaching Comics to 4 year olds

Next week I have to come up with my proposal idea for an Art project that I will then teach to a nursery class in the school I’m training to be a teacher in. That was a rubbish sentence, I know. This blog isn’t about my grammar though (obviously). The whole idea of having the class roll around on paint filled skateboards went out the window when I found out I was being placed in a nursery class for 9 weeks. Nursery children are 4 (or soon to be) years old. Anyway, listening to all the different possible ways of doing this project today, I thought it’d be pretty stupid (and a missed opportunity) to not use my own work as some sort of starting point for what the class end up doing.

So I’m going to attempt to teach 4 year olds how to draw comics. Sounds crazy, I know. But it makes a lot of sense too. I’ve already spent a month with the class, and if you ask them what they really care about, or (more importantly) who they want to be when they grow up, they’ll tell you “Batman!”, “Spiderman!” or “Spongebob!”

And I feel their pain when the class teacher repeatedly tells them “no you can’t be Batman! Batman wasn’t in the nativity!” I’ve found some pretty amazing resources: Comic Tools and Teaching with Comics and I can always rely on my friend Jim Medway who’s become a bit of an authority on the subject. I may even rope him in to helping me teach the class (he doesn’t know this yet).

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

