Ollie Airwalk

Before Airwalk shoes were like, everywhere, they used to make pretty cool skate shoes (I had a pair of these ones)

Mike Vallely wore one of these on one foot and an orange one on his other foot in Public Domain, a look that couldn’t be pulled off back in 1989 when your parents bought your shoes.

Anyway, I digress. Airwalk used to run a skate comic as way of an advertisement in Transworld every month, which I obviously loved. Some nice interweb fella has tracked some of them down so that people like me (and now you) can geek out over them. Click here to look at them all.

Whilst I’m on the subject (the subject is long forgotten skate comics of the late 1980’s, if you’re wondering) there was another one drawn by Mr Andy Jenkins (we’re not worthy!) called Wrench Pilot (this one didn’t advertise shoes or anything) and looky here, what d’ya know, they’re all archived over here.

This post is pretty My Skateboard Life lite I know, I just really can’t be bothered to plug the internet into the other computer to get hold of the photo I took of the sketchbook (that doesn’t make sense does it?). I have the day off tomorrow so I’m sure I’ll get round to showing you what I’ve drawn lately then.

Back in 1989 I remember I had a few cassette tapes (all copies) that made up my music collection. This early collection obviously pales in comparison with the fucking monolith of CDs and records that I’ve since blown several thousands of pounds on, but in it’s own way it was pretty good for a little 14 year old kid. I remember I had one C90 that had Public Enemy’s Fear Of A Black Planet on one side and Eazy E’s solo effort ‘Eazy Duz It’ on the other. I had to play the latter only when my parents were out of the house due to it’s (ahem) lyrical content. I definitely blushed when I first heard the immortal lines: “She took her panties down and the bitch had a dick! I said: “Damn”, dropped the gat from my hand [What I thought was a bitch, was nothing but a man]” (apologies to our younger viewers).

Ok, so here’s ‘Fight The Power’ by Public Enemy. See you tomorrow.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Ollie Airwalk”

  1. Harry Says:

    Hey Ed
    been trying to get hold of you. Please could you give us a call on 0161 834 8090 or fire me an email on twodist@gmail.com

    hope you well and hopefully catch up soon.

    Cheers

    Harry

  2. Deanna @ Airwalk Warehouse Says:

    Hello, just browsing for information for my Airwalk website. Lots of information out there. Wasn’t what I was looking for, but good site. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

